Venturing beyond the beaches to Roman ruins, Medina and desert!

Tunisia is the smallest country in North Africa with a population of 10,043,000 and the capital being Tunis. The main language spoken is Arabic and French. I picked up on mainly the French language immediately as in restaurants and shops people were saying ‘merci’ and ‘Bonjour’ quite frequently. I would advise to learn a few French phases in order to travel. English is rarely spoken or understood as I discovered the hard way. The currency is the Tunisian dinar with the exchange rate being pretty strong against the British pound. I would say it was a little more expensive than Morocco and certainly more than Egypt, but still good value. £25 would be an average budget, but this can dramatically inflate if adding tours/trips and some luxury. We seemed to find plenty of ATM’S around in the major towns. Visas are free for most on arrival too.

It’s located on the north, coast of Africa with 800 kilometres of beautiful Mediterranean coastline and unspoiled beaches. The south of the country is composed mainly of the Sahara desert. Some may say its North Africa’s most relaxed and hospitable country. Climate is kind, in the north it has hot, dry summers and mild, rainy winters. Flying from the UK takes only two and a half hours; ‘Tunis Air’ operates regular cheap flights. So why isn’t it more popular I ask myself!?! Cheap to travel around too, great exchange rates and great, golden beaches with lots of sunshine…

The natural beauty and history of this country could easily be packed in to a country twice its size. The Atlas Mountains and Sahara desert both played a prominent role in the ancient times, first with the Punic city of Carthage, then as the roman province of Africa which was known as the ‘Bread basket’ of Rome. Later Tunisia occupied by Vandals during the 5Th century AD, Byzantines in the 6Th century and Arabs in the 8Th century. Under the Ottoman empire Tunisia was known as ‘Regency of Tunis’. It passed under French protectorate in 1881. After obtaining independence in 1956 the country took the official name of ‘Kingdom of Tunisia’.

The country boasts ‘religious freedom’, With regards to the freedom of Muslims. The people seem generally indifferent and quite used to tourists. There was a mainly North African backpacker crowd, with not many Europeans. I did bump into a few Dutch, Japanese, and Germans, one Australian and quite a few English, but not many. In relation to Egypt and Morocco there is no real hassle. Being one of the wealthiest countries in the region and it shows; you’re not bothered by touts, beggars or salesmen. You do get minor hassle to buy souvenirs on the street or as you pass restaurants but nothing significant. As a woman travelling, you need to be confident and wear sensible clothing.

Tourism seems to be well developed to make independent travelling relaxed and easy to plan and get about. I would say it’s more geared towards ‘tourists’ than ‘travellers’. Being more appealing to package, European tourists. I did discover there are ten package holiday tourists to every one independent traveller.

There are good transport links to get around and the compactness is unique for Africa. The SNCFT operates the rail network, which links Tunis, Sousse, Sfax and Gafsa. A good point to note is tickets bought on the train are more than double the price of ones at the station. So plan in advance. State ran bus services are good; these are recognisable by the green and yellow buses and are air conditioned and comfortable. You also get mini buses otherwise known as ‘louages’ departing from major towns for travellers and locals, these are great and very cheap. But be aware these fill up very quickly. You pay when you’re due to leave the vehicle apart from arrival in to large towns which have organised stalls in stations.

Accommodation was good, not a lot specifically aimed at travellers, but plenty of cheap places. Price and availability does vary from town to town, especially in the beach resorts and during the summer months. Don’t expect heating in the winter or air con in the summer and hot water is not always available. A basic cold, buffet breakfast is nearly always supplied in with the room price. For a cheap room you can expect to pay around £7 – £15 a night.

There is plenty of good food to be found around Tunisia. Being distinctively, spicy with influences coming from neighbouring countries. They have a fondness for couscous and deserts. Couscous is nearly served with everything. Normally paired with a ‘briq’, a very thin, pastry parcel that comes with a range of fillings. Fish/seafood is very popular, especially canned tuna. A basket of bread is served with every meal being a cheap substance. Most meals are served and cooked in the traditional tagine (a pot). Also pork consumption is also forbidden in accordance with Sharia, religious laws of Islam. Some of my favourites included the donuts made from orange juice and dipped in honey syrup, the ‘Tunisian salad’, which was all diced up containing cucumber, peppers, onions, tomato, eggs, tuna seasoned with olive oil. ‘Mloukhia’ was a good, filling dish almost like a casserole or stew. Very tasty lamb, beef or chicken with vegetables in a gravy sauce. Spicy sausages called ‘Merguez’. When it comes to drink, Tunisians are big coffee drinkers, but the preferred drink is ‘mint tea’. I did keep trying it but did not like it one bit! Most meals I had with fizzy drinks or mineral water. Although a Muslim country and not served everywhere, alcohol is widely available. Tunisian produced wine is very good, trust me I sampled enough. An interesting liqueur and a home brewed beer called ‘Celtia’ – not to everyone’s taste but worth a try….

We only spent two weeks exploring, but felt like we saw so much of this diverse country. The outline of our plan was starting in Tunis, travel towards Dougga, Le Kef, Makthar, Kairouan, Sbeitla, Tozeur, Douz, Matmata, El Jem, Sousse and Carthage before heading back to Tunis.

We spent 2 nights in ‘Tunis’, I felt it was all about the Medina, which is a listed UNESCO World Heritage Site. ‘Bardo’ museum is a must see sight, housed in the former royal palace, the building itself is attractive and surrounded by perfect groomed gardens. It contains a huge collection of Roman mosaics, Greek bronze statuary and Islamic artefact’s. The Phoenician trading port of Carthage, once the second most important city of the Roman Empire is also worth a visit. We also trekked further north of Carthage to a charming village of Sidi Bou Said, originated around the tomb of a 13Th century holy man. We spent the afternoon wandering through the quiet streets past the traditional white washed houses with many other tourists.

We took the train from Tunis to Kairouan, which took just under three hours. The train was great, air conditioned and comfortable the views on the journey were amazing. The whole city is a UNESCO world heritage site and Islam’s fourth most holy centre. The great mosque is one of the most important in Tunisia. There is also a famous amphitheatre of ‘El Djem’, this is considered to many to be finer than Rome’s coliseum, it is very striking but I think the statement of it being finer than Rome’s is a bit bold. We headed to Mahres to spend the night, a small village on the coast. It was a very quirky, arty place. Lots of artists sat around drawing and painting near the sea. A calming place!

 

The next day we took a minivan across the rocky dessert to ‘Matmata’ a small Berber speaking town in southern Tunisia. This was home to the troglodytes, people who live underground; Villages are created by digging a large pit in the ground. It has become famous in more recent years for featuring in the series of the star wars films. We visited the remains of the original film set which was incredible and you could imagine it all taking place. We also got the chance to visit real troglodyte homes. This was an extraordinary experience. I had seen something similar before in a central south Australian town called ‘Cooper Pedy’. We continued by bus to Douz, the gateway town to the Sahara. We passed through the town centre and visited the Sahara desert museum before taking a camel trek into the Sahara. We trekked on camels into the desert late afternoon as it was getting cooler, I loved this experience! We had dinner out in the desert watching the cooks cooking traditional food for us and baking bread in the sand. The camel drivers played traditional music around a campfire before we spent the night in a Bedouin camp. Nothing more than a basic tent, cushions and blankets. But what a peaceful night’s sleep, alone out in the desert.

The next morning was stimulating and dreamlike waking very early in the desert. We left the camels and drove in the minivan across 2000 square miles of the ‘Chott El Djerid’ (salt lake), which appeared like a mirage against the sand, before reaching Tozeur. The town has earned a reputation for the lush beauty of its oasis in which 200,000 date palms thrive and is now a common tourist destination. We spent the night in a cheap, centrally located hotel in Tozeur, surrounded by gorgeous gardens.

 

We departed to Metlaoui to take the red lizard train through remarkable scenery. It was a wooden, old train running the ‘Selja river canyons’. We also visited the close by old town and oasis at Nefta in a valley filled with thousands of palms. We travelled overnight back by bus to Tozeur. We were a little unsure about staying overnight due to recent riots and fighting in Metlaoui. So it seemed safer to head back to Tozeur even though we didn’t get great night’s sleep.

The sun had risen as we arrived in visit Sbeitla, home to one of the best preserved archaeological sites in Tunisia. This was a small town in central Tunisia, nearby are the Roman ruins of Sufetula. We took a car to the ruins they were well worth the difficulty getting there. We continued on from here by taxi to the charming mountain town of Le Kaf, which clings to the side of the cliff. This is clearly one of the most underrated travel destinations in the country. It was charming and stunning at an elevation of 800 metres above sea level with plenty of attractions. We found a small, café here and watched the sun go down enjoying a glass of wine. Perfect!

The next day we caught an early bus to Dougga, where the Roman site was. This was given UNESCO World heritage status in 1997. It is the largest in Tunis and considered the most magnificent. Later that day we continued to the Andalucian city of Testour, founded by Muslims evicted from Spain in the 1600s. The square is very Spanish in style and the great mosque dominates the old town. The mosque is really quite interesting, holding lots of details, which all tell stories. We spent the night in a family guest house within the town perched on the hills of the Medjerda valley. Food wasn’t the best here or should I say not to our liking, ha. After this we headed back to Tunis via bus to head to the airport for our return flight back to the UK.

 

The highlights of this trip have been endless, taking in so much and experiences I will remember forever. Venturing beyond the beaches to Roman ruins, Medina and desert! From the extensive use of white and blue colours all around Sidi Bou Said. To the great mosque of ‘Kairouan’ dating back to the as 7th century AD. Magnificent Roman ruins. Seeing the largest salt pan of the Sahara desert and trekking by camel to an overnight Bedouin camp….

50 Comments

  1. Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a
    group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us beneficial information
    to work on. You have done a outstanding job!

  2. Thank you a lot for sharing this with all folks you really understand what you are speaking about! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally visit my site =). We can have a hyperlink alternate contract between us

  3. You are truly a excellent webmaster. The website loading velocity is incredible. It seems that you are doing any unique trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you’ve performed a magnificent job on this topic!

  4. Its such as you read my mind! You appear to grasp a lot approximately this, such as you wrote the ebook in it or something. I feel that you simply can do with a few % to power the message home a bit, but other than that, this is great blog. An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.

  5. I just want to say I am just all new to blogging and certainly loved your web blog. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You amazingly come with very good writings. Bless you for sharing with us your webpage.

  6. This design is steller! You certainly know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  7. Amazing blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally confused .. Any ideas? Cheers!

  8. Does your site have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

  9. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the structure of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  10. I simply wanted to appreciate you again. I am not sure what I would have gone through in the absence of the tips and hints shown by you on that subject. It seemed to be a difficult scenario in my view, nevertheless being able to view a skilled technique you treated it took me to leap over happiness. Extremely grateful for your information and hope you realize what a powerful job you have been putting in educating other individuals through a blog. Most likely you’ve never got to know all of us.

  11. Just want to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity on your put up is simply nice and that i can suppose you are an expert on this subject. Well along with your permission let me to snatch your feed to stay up to date with coming near near post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

  12. An fascinating discussion is worth comment. I think that you need to write extra on this subject, it might not be a taboo topic however generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  13. Thank you for sharing excellent informations. Your site is so cool. I am impressed by the details that you¡¦ve on this website. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for more articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the info I already searched everywhere and just couldn’t come across. What a great website.

  14. I think this is among the so much significant information for me. And i am glad reading your article. But should commentary on few normal things, The website taste is wonderful, the articles is in reality nice : D. Just right job, cheers

  15. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn something like this before. So nice to search out somebody with some original ideas on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this web site is one thing that’s needed on the net, someone with slightly originality. useful job for bringing one thing new to the web!

  16. Wonderful goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely wonderful. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it wise. I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is actually a tremendous web site.

  17. You can positively spot your enthusiasm in the work you engrave. The world hopes for additional passionate writers such as you who are not fearful to mention how they believe. Until the end of time chance behind your heart.

  18. Visit your website constantly, constantly getting interesting things, a specific thing intriguing. Simply mind boggling how it is easy to unite terms. Keep it up! Congratulations are in order!

  19. This design is steller! You definitely know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  20. I’ve been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or weblog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web site. Reading this info So i am satisfied to show that I have an incredibly good uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I so much indisputably will make sure to don’t forget this website and provides it a look regularly.

  21. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  22. I do accept as true with all the ideas you have introduced on your post. They are very convincing and can definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts are too brief for newbies. Could you please prolong them a little from next time? Thanks for the post.

  23. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m inspired! Very useful information specifically the last phase 🙂 I deal with such information much. I was seeking this certain information for a very lengthy time. Thank you and good luck.

  24. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of About Us | Web Designing Company India . Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  25. I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one these days..

  26. I’m typically to blogging and i really respect your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your site and hold checking for brand spanking new information.

  27. After research a few of the weblog posts in your website now, and I really like your manner of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website listing and might be checking back soon. Pls take a look at my site as nicely and let me know what you think.

  28. Aw, this was a very nice post. In concept I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and precise effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means seem to get one thing done.

  29. I used to be very happy to find this web-site.I wanted to thanks to your time for this glorious learn!! I undoubtedly enjoying each little little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you weblog post.

  30. Good day! I just wish to give a huge thumbs up for the nice information you have got here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for extra soon.

  31. I was very pleased to seek out this net-site.I needed to thanks in your time for this glorious learn!! I definitely enjoying each little little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

  32. This web site is mostly a walk-by means of for the entire info you wished about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and also you’ll undoubtedly discover it.

Leave a comment